Countdown begins with high-voltage ‘game’ as polling begins in Bengal’s second phase

In West Bengal, the Trinamool Congress and the BJP are vying for all 30 seats in the second round of polls.

Among the united front centers, CPI-M is contesting 15 seats, Congress 9, AIFB 2 and CPI 2 seats.

In the districts of South 24 Parganas, Bankura, West Midnapore and East Midnapore, 30 assembly constituencies which participated in the second phase of polling are heading towards polling.

Of the 171 candidates, 152 are men and the rest are women. This means that only 11% of the candidates are women.

Bankura has a maximum of 11 candidates and Keshpur has a minimum of three candidates.

Today is CM Banerjee’s D-Day as Nandigram vote

Undoubtedly the two most prominent of these candidates are Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and her former ministerial colleague Suvendu Adhikari, who joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in December last year.

CM Banerjee is witnessing the most interesting and high-profile contest of Nandigram elections in the face of Adhikari.

The official claimed that the meeting was full of promises that Mamata would quit politics if she was not defeated by 50,000 votes in Nandigram.

The Left Front has fielded Meenakshi Mukherjee, the state president of the Democratic Youth Federation of India (DYFI), from Nandigram against Banerjee and Adhikari.

Apart from Nandigram, this high-level seat is the Debra seat, which has fielded former BJP IPS officer Bharti Ghosh against former Trinamool Congress IPS officer Humayun Kabir.

Significantly, Ghosh once had to be close to Mamata Banerjee. He joined the BJP before the 2012 Lok Sabha polls. Kabir, on the other hand, joined the TMC before this assembly vote.

Many popular faces in the entertainment industry are contesting in the second round of the polls, with actor Soham Chakraborty and Sayantika Bandyopadhyay representing TMC and from Chandipur and Bankura respectively, while actor Hiranmoy Chatterjee from the BJP is contesting from Kharagpur Sadar in West Midnapore. Coincidentally, Union Minister Amit Shah campaigned for Chattopadhyay.

Tamlu has fielded TMC Soumen Mohapatra and is against BJP’s Harekrishna Bera and CPI’s Gautam Panda. BJP cricketer Ashok Dinda has been fielded against TMC’s Sangram Kumar Dolui and Congress’ Manik Bhaunik in the East Midnapore autopsy constituency.

MLA Tapsi Mandal, who was with the CPI (M) in Haldia, is now the BJP candidate Swapan Naskaran of the aggressive TMC and Manik Kar Pike of the CPI (M).

.95.94 lakh voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the election. The smallest constituency is Bishnupur with 2,1,690 voters and the largest constituency is Daspur in West Midnapore with 2,97,8499 voters.

The state has 17 NRI voters and 13,118 voters in the second phase of polling.

700 security forces have been deployed to maintain law and order during the polls.

The Election Commission has designated 10,620 polling stations for 6333 primary stations and 228787 auxiliary stations at this stage.

Unemployment, lack of industrial growth and economic backwardness are some of the major issues in South 24 Parganas, Bankura, West Midnapore and East Midnapore.

Once a stronghold of the Left Front, these seats have voted for the TMC in the last two elections. However, anti-incumbency winds against the ruling government can also play a decisive role during voting. Also, East Midnapore is considered a fortress of the Odhikar tribe. The TMC has been leveled at several welfare projects like ‘Duare Sarkar’, ‘Swartha Sathi’ and ‘Kanyashree’.

However, power-related campaigns involving stormy rallies and mega road shows were mostly dominated by the ruling TMC and the BJP. The third front, the Congress, the Left Front and the Indian Secular Forces, has been seen to be on the back foot of the issue of strong propaganda.

The ambitious BJP has been campaigning hard to bring down the ruling TMC government in the state. The party has been campaigning for Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh and many more to continue its lead in Bengal after a landslide victory in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in the state.

In the first phase of the West Bengal Assembly elections, an estimated .9,799 percent of the electorate was completed and 30 seats were covered from Purulia, Jhargram, Bankura, Purba and West Midnapore.

Voting for the 31 seats in the third phase of the 294-member state assembly will be held on April 6.

Elections for the 44 seats in the fourth phase will be held on April 10.

In addition, voting will take place in 45 seats in the fifth phase on April 1.

The sixth phase is scheduled for April 22 when elections for 43 seats will be held.

Voting will be held for 3 36 seats in the seventh phase on 2 April. Finally, the eighth round is scheduled for April 29 when 35 seats will go to the polls.

The state assembly polls are being held in eight phases. The votes will be counted on May 22.

Subscribe Mint Newsletters

* Enter a valid email

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *