Opposition will boycott the session until demands are met: Congress

Opposition leader in the Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad said, “We will boycott the monsoon session until the government brings another bill, assuring that the government will not be able to purchase goods from farmers under the MPPP and will not comply with our other demands.” On tuesday.

The veteran Congress leader, speaking in the Rajya Sabha, also demanded the lifting of the stay order of the eight MPs who were sacked due to the chairman’s move on September 20.

“As far as our demand is concerned, where the government is involved in lifting the moratorium on six MPs and bringing another bill to the government under which no private player can be bought under the MSP, the opposition will boycott the session,” Azad said.

The senior leader, however, agreed that Sunday’s Rajya Sabha function should not have been held in such a manner but said that the main reason for dissatisfaction among them was that MPs were given very limited time to speak.

“No one is satisfied with what happened in this House … People want their leaders to be heard. No one can express their views in just 2-3 minutes. There will be 90 per cent stagnation if MPs do not interrupt the speaking time. , ”He said.

He raised the issue of not sending the bill to the standing committee for investigation, among other issues, and stressed that opposition leaders did not impose any deadline for speeches at the meeting while Congress-led governments were in power.

Opposition leaders walked out of the Rajya Sabha on Tuesday and protested in front of a statue of Mahatma Gandhi in the Parliament premises.

MPs from Congress, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Shiv Sena, Trinamool Congress (TMC), Communist Party of India (Marxist) have boycotted the house demanding withdrawal of the moratorium on eight MPs.

Meanwhile, the strike by suspended Rajya Sabha MPs ended after opposition members boycotted the parliament.

The Rajya Sabha witnessed an uninterrupted scene on Sunday as members of the Opposition plunged into the House fog and reached the Deputy Commissioner’s seat to protest against the Farmers ‘Production Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Benefits) Bill, 2020 and the Farmers’ (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement. Price Assurance and Farm Services Bill, 2020. Later, eight MPs were sacked by the Rajya Sabha chairman on Monday for fraud created in the upper house.

Subscribe Mint Newsletters

* Enter a valid email

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *