PV Narasimha Rao’s daughter defeats BJP rival, Telangana MLC wins on TRS ticket

Hyderabad : The ruling TRS candidate S Bani Devi, daughter of former Prime Minister PV Narasimha Rao, won the Telangana Legislative Assembly from the Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad graduation seat on Saturday.

Vani Devi defeated her nearest BJP rival and sitting MLC N Ramchandra Rao. He received the election certificate from the returning officer on Saturday night, official sources said.

Elections for the council were held on March 14 from Mahabubnagar-Ranagradi-Hyderabad and Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda graduate constituencies. TRS nominee for Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda constituency and MLC Palla Rajeshwar Reddy has continued his leadership as a protracted process as the vote count is still going on.

The counting of votes began on Wednesday and continued till Saturday as a large number of candidates and voters used jumbo-sized ballot papers to exercise their voting right in the preferred manner. The total number of voters in the two constituencies is more than 10 lakh. There were 99 candidates from Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad constituency, and 711 candidates from Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda constituency.

In Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad constituency 67 67.26 per cent votes were cast, while in Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda constituency the number of voters was 4 76.41 per cent. TRS was determined to win two seats in the Dabbak assembly constituency and Hyderabad civic polls late last year, and the BJP wanted to continue this momentum after its stellar performance in the Hyderabad civic elections.

The Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad seat is also closely contested by Congress’ G Chinna Reddy, TDP’s Telangana branch president L Ramna and former MLC K Nageshwar, a professor of journalism and prominent analyst.

Subscribe Mint Newsletters

* Enter a valid email

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *