The first two hours in Dharamsala 12%, Palampur 13% turnout

Officials said the first two hours of polling were recorded in Dharamsala on Wednesday and 13 per cent in Palampur in Himachal Pradesh, where polling for four municipal corporations was underway on Wednesday.

Voting is being held at Dharamsala, Mandi, Solan and Palampur from 8 am to 4 pm.

Mandi, Solan and Palampur are newly formed civic bodies and are going to hold elections for the first time, while Dharamsala Municipal Corporation did not hold elections in 2015 with party symbols.

Dharamsala Municipal Corporation has 20 councilors and 1 of them is directly elected and three are nominated by the state government. Councilors are elected by direct election in April 201. Was held at.

Simultaneous elections are also being held in the newly formed Nagar Panchayats of Chirgaon and Nerwa in Shimla district, Ani and Nirmond in Kullu district, Kandaghat in Solan and Ambe in Anna district.

Voting has begun at a slow pace but is slowly gaining momentum, an election official said.

In a tweet, Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Jairam Tagore appealed to the people to cast their votes in large numbers and take part in the celebration of democracy.

A total of 2,279 candidates are contesting in 644 wards of the four municipal bodies, but direct competition is between BJP and Congress candidates.

The Aam Aadmi Party has fielded candidates in 43 of the 644 wards, while the CPI (M) has fielded only one candidate in one ward of Mandi.

Eighty candidates are in the fray in 1 ward of Dharamsala, followed by 755 candidates in 15 wards of Mandi, 644 candidates in 15 wards of Palampur and lan0 candidates in Solan.

The votes will be counted at the municipal headquarters at 4 pm.

Subscribe Mint Newsletters

* Enter a valid email

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *