West Bengal Assembly elections: Voting begins for fifth phase under Kovid-19 shadow

Prior to the survey on Saturday, West Bengal had received 6,910 new COVID-19 cases and 26 deaths in the last 24 hours.

Voting for the 44 assembly seats began at 7am on Saturday amid tight security. More than one crore voters are eligible to exercise their voting right to determine the political fate of 342 candidates.

Long queues were seen outside the polling booths where voting was taking place following the Karnavirus guidelines.

This evening at half past one. Voting will continue till

Here are the top 10 updates on the fifth step of voting in Bengal:

1) More than 1 crore people will vote in the fifth phase of West Bengal Assembly elections.

2) Polling will be held in 15,7899 polling stations in 45 constituencies.

3) In this phase of elections, there will be intense fighting in 13 constituencies of North Bengal including five in Darjeeling, one in Kalimpong and seven in Jalpaiguri.

4) To ensure free and fair voting, the Election Commission has decided to deploy at least 853 agencies of the Central Forces.

5) Security has been beefed up for the fifth phase in the wake of the previous episode of violence, which witnessed the death of five people in Kochbihar district, including four in CISF firing.

45) These 44 constituencies are spread over the districts of North 24 Parganas, East Burdwan, Nadia, Jalpaiguri, Darjeeling and Kalimpong.

)) Prominent names in the fifth round of Bengali elections include Siliguri mayor and Left Front leader Ashok Bhattacharya, state minister Gautam Dev and Bratya Basu and BJP’s Samik Bhattacharya.

8) Voting will be held on Saturday in 45 constituencies: Dhupguri (SC), Mainaguri (SC), Jalpaiguri (SC), Rajganj (SC), Abgram-Fulbari, Mal (ST), Nagarkata (ST), Kalimpong, Darjeeling, Kursiang, Matigara. -Nakshalbari (SC), Siliguri, Fandeswa (ST), Santipur, Ranaghat North Pashim, Krishnaganj (SC), Ranaghat North East (SC), Ranaghat South (SC), Chakdaha, Kalyani (SC), Haringhata (SC), Panihati , Kamarhati, Baranagar, Dum Dom, Rajarhat New Town, Bidhannagar, Rajarhat Gopalpur, Madhyamgram, Barasat, Deganga, Haroa, Minakhan (SC), Sandeshkhali (ST), Basirhat South, Basirhat North, Hingalganj (SC), Khandaghosh (SC) , Burdwan South, Raina (SC), Jamalpur (SC), Montessori, Kalna (SC), Memari and Burdwan North (SC).

9) The fifth episode of the campaign ended on Wednesday, the EC has extended the ‘silence period’ from 48 to 722 hours in the wake of the Kochbihar violence.

10) The first four phases were held on March 27, April 1, April 6 and April 10, respectively. Voting for the sixth phase of the state assembly elections is scheduled for April 22. The votes will be counted on May 2.

Subscribe Mint Newsletters

* Enter a valid email

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *